This is my journey...
 
Ok, this has been on my mind for awhile now:

Ireally want to do a juice fast. A 60 day juice fast to be exact. I feel like it would be really great for me. I really want to get healthy, and losing a ton of weight in a fairly short period of time seems like a great added bonus. Plus the other things, like a better complexion, more energy, better sleep, healthier hair and nails... I want all of that! I'm a bit scared though. First off, I like to eat. I love breads and cheeses. Going from eating meat, dairy, and gluten to being a raw vegan (only for the juice fast) seems like it will suck. I know when I get used to it I most likely won't miss all the crap I usually eat, and will start craving the good healthy stuff. However, going 60 days without a bean and cheese burrito does not sound fun. Don't get me wrong, I'm excited about the fast... I'm just a bit apprehensive at the same time.

I plan to start on Tuesday, May 21st. On Monday after work I will go shopping for all the groceries for the first week, plus a few treats. :) Not that the treats are all that exciting to everyone, but I am stoked about getting new Tupperware, a thermos, and a few travel tumblers. It's the little things, right?

This weekend I will clean out the fridge, and deep clean both rooms. I want to start with a clean living environment, to keep my new "clean" self in! Plus, I'm anxious about it, so all that nervous energy needs to go somewhere.

I'm also trying to think of something really delicious for my "last meal" in Monday night. I plan for it to include lots of cheese!

I'm hoping that blogging about this experience will help keep me accountable. I don't really expect anybody to actually read and follow this, but making myself right about the journey will make more likely to perservere.

TTFN!
-Kylie
Jenny McAlister
5/23/2013 02:10:48 pm

I found your blog by accident, so I started to read it out of being curious. I have also thought about doing a juicing fast myself but have not really made any effort. Even though you are only on day three, it has been inspiring to me to read about someone else real experiences as they are happening. I do have a question, can you recommend a juicer? I have never realized how hard it is to buy a juicer, there are so many brands and styles. Thank you and keep up the great work. Best wishes.....Jenny

Reply
Kylie Owen
5/23/2013 02:38:43 pm

Hi Jenny!

First off, thanks for reading my blog! It's exciting to have a viewer that isn't a family member or close friend. :) I hope that my journey can be of some help to you.

The juicer I have is the Breville Juice Fountain. I am happy with it. It's not a new one, my parents found it on Craigslist and then gave it to me, but it still works really well! It was really easy to put together and use. It is a pain to clean, but from what I've read, any juicer is kind of a pain to clean. I have found that it doesn't juice leafy greens very well, but it works wonders with everything else.

Let me know if you have anymore questions! :)
-Ky

Reply
Jenny McAlister
5/28/2013 10:36:04 am

Hi Kylie,
I have finally made the decision to start my journey and go on a juicing fast. I plan on starting next Mon. I hope I will have the same success you have had. Your blog has really inspired me to get healthy. I was wondering, do you have your own recipes that you use or do you follow a plan? I know for eveyone things are different but I want to focus on something that will bring me success like you. Thanks for your help. Best wishes....Jenny

Reply
Kylie Owen
5/28/2013 10:41:47 am

Aww, yay! I am so happy I was able to be of some help to you! :) I do not have a set plan. I do try to have most of my juices contain vegetables of the green variety. Although, next week, I was going to try one of the menus from "Reboot With Joe", just to see how it works. I would encourage you to check out that website, as well as "The Juice Nut". Both are a great resource for recipes and ideas. One of my favorites so far has been 1 pineapple, 4 oranges, and a sweet potato! It was so good!

Best of luck, Jenny!
Kylie

Reply
Jenny McAlister
5/29/2013 10:47:12 am

Thanks for the suggestions, I will check them both out and thank you for the recipe, that will be the first one I try . Best wishes....Jenny

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kylie, and I am embarking on a journey to get healthy... and lose weight before my wedding. This is me.

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All


Kylie's Blog